The electronics…

Well… so I will explain briefly how I made this part… Each square has 8 red hight brightness leds inside no oriented upwards so the light difusses better. It makes 200 total leds, it’s a bit boring to solder so many leds… The control of these leds ia made with a PIC 16F876A Microcontroller. The control software is in C and I made a software in order to design the sequences. The sequences are changed via RS232 communication when I play music on Winamp I programmed a PlugIn that synchs the table with the music bpm’s… Maybe all the software stuff was one of the easiests and fastest to develope as I have long experience with the subject.

So… the PIC receives the signal via RS232 (I will make this communication via Zigbee when I get some Xbee modules) and transmits them thorugh I2C to PCF8574 that make use of the ULN28003 in order to get enough current to feed the leds…

 So here are some pictures of the soldering process (It was quiet boring and the results are not very well looking, but none will see the soldered board):

dsc00458.jpgdsc00453.jpg dsc00463.jpg

~ por mrgalleta en septiembre 13, 2007.

7 comentarios to “The electronics…”

  1. Working on this table now, and I would LOVE a schematic for the electronics. I know you’re probably busy, but it would save me weeks worth of time.

  2. Hola!!!

    esta mesa es la os… felicidades por tu trabajo!estoy muy motivado para construir la mia, pero tengo un problema… se me escapa totalmente todo el tema de la electronica. no comprendo nada del vocabulario y menos en ingles… me podrias hechar un cable? no se, me gustaria saber cosas como donde comprar el material adiente para las conexiones, como hacerlas y como hacer la programacion.
    ya se que son muchas cosas y que no es tan sencillo pero me harias un gran favor si me hechas una manita.
    de todos modos gracias!

    hasta pronto

    Hector

  3. Estoy en la misma situacion de hector….Feliciaciones por este buen trabajo

  4. Dear mrgalleta, there is something I don´t really understand… your table must be connected to the PC or does it include a microphone?

  5. Its connected to the PC through the serial port. A winamp plugin thell the table when to change the lights.

  6. Que onda, excelente trabajo, queria ver si de favor no podrias poner los materiales necesarios para todo el trabajo de la electronica, ya que es lo mas complicado diria yo, ya que todo lo demas esta hecho sin ningun problema, solo me faltaria saber, que materiales comprar para la electronica y como unirlos y como soldarlos, saludos.

  7. He estado tratando de encontrar mas informacion sobre el controlador y la programacion que utilizaste para la mesa, pero no encuntro nada sobre eso en instructables ni en ningun otro sitio. No se si tu codigo y diagramas para el controlador esten diponibles al publico o si estes dispuesto a venderme una copia. Cualquier ayuda se te agradeceria muchisimo.

Responder

 
